South Central holds awards night

By Lynn Smith, South Central High School
On Monday evening, May 8, the South Central High School 28th annual Academic and Athletic Awards Night was held.

Abby Hahn, student council president, welcomed students, parents, faculty and administration and gave opening remarks.
Chris Long began the awards ceremony by presenting the Spanish Award to Bailey Sigrist, Kaelyn Nannini and Jonathan Smith.
Kimberly Major, standing in for Lynn Smith, presented the business awards to: Logan Lotz, Introduction to Business; Brandan Snow, Accounting I; Michaela Engel, Sydney Miller, Adrianne Herbert, and Rachel Bray, Information/Word Processing.
Major then recognized Luke Bergmann for completing the national awards of Future, Business, Leader and America. These awards involved completing 15-20 activities each, and he completed all four in one semester, which is a big accomplishment.
The South Central FBLA award was presented to Luke Bergmann. Also acknowledged was Ean Fox for serving as and being re-elected Southwestern Area president and state vice president, Ella Jahraus for serving as Southwestern Area secretary, Luke Bergmann for serving as and being re-elected Southwestern Area treasurer.
Also recognized were Makenzi Wilson, Ella Jahraus, Rachel Bray, Adrianne Herbert and Ally McCown who will represent South Central in Publication Design, Word Processing, Advertising and Computer Applications, respectively, at the National FBLA Conference in Anaheim, Calif., at the end of June.        
Hugh Rosen presented Serena Germany, Jessica Whitney, Anthony Jamison, Noel Jones, Lance Landreth and Kimberly Carter with the art awards.
Michelle Hawkins gave the English award to Ella Jahraus.
She then recognized the scholar bowl team, which finished the season with a record of 29-11, placed second in the NTC Conference and first in the Masonic Sectionals, which led them to state.
Carson Hulsey was named MVP and was also named MVP of the EIU tournament. Carson also got first place in the all-conference tournament and had 7,230 toss ups throughout his season.    
Hawkins also recognized: Mingxiao Liu with the WYSE award; Carson Hulsey, Madison Durbin and Ella Jahraus as the World Quest team; and Luke Bergmann, Louisa Brandl, Carson Hulsey, Deidre Hall and Ella Jahraus as the chemistry team.
The Kaskaskia College Board of Trustees scholarships were then presented by Amy Troutt. This scholarship pays for tuition and fees for two years, and the recipients were Brayden Gunter and Carson Hulsey.
Dereck Koester presented the biology award to Hannah Rubin.
Hawkins returned to the podium to recognize Luke Bergmann with the National Honor Society Volunteer Award.
Rosanne Harshbarger presented the choir awards: Ella Jahraus, Honor Choir Award; Noel Jones, Choir Most Improved; Kaelyn Nannini, Choir Underclassman of the Year; Erin Schroeder, Choir Outstanding First Year; and Ella Jahraus, Choir Outstanding Senior.
Stephanie Jones presented the band awards: Sierra Cooper, Band Most Improved; Grace Jones, Band Underclassman of the Year; and Ella Jahraus, Band Award of Excellence.
Major, standing in for Steve Eischens, then presented the physical science award to Carson Hulsey.
The David Powless Social Studies Award was presented to Krista Lotz by Levi Bridges.
The Raymond D. “Jack” Myers Scholarship was presented to Griffin Durbin and Trevor Markley by Major.
Illinois State Scholars are those seniors who rank in the top 10 percent of the Illinois high school’s graduating class of 2017. Students receiving this honor were Rachel Bray and Ella Jahraus.
Randy Comer presented the FFA Awards: Mason Robb, FFA Star Greenhand Award; Jacob Hanks, FFA Outstanding Sophomore; Alexandria Reid and Kerra Mitchell, FFA Outstanding Juniors; and Dillion Hassebrock, FFA DeKalb Award.
Susan File, vice president of membership services for Southwestern Electric, presented Hannah Rubin and Rachel Bray with the SWEC Scholarship.
Jane Heinzmann, director of family ministries, presented the Kinmundy United Methodist Church Mary Mayer Memorial Scholarships to Rachel Bray, Emily Chapman, Abby Hahn, Ella Jahraus, Hannah Rubin, Trevor Markley and Sidney Wilkins. Paul Glenney presented Serena Germany with the Lake Land College Foundation and Presidential Scholarship.
Stephen Phillips presented the DAR Award to Ella Jahraus, the SAR Outstanding Citizenship Award to Carson Hulsey and the SCHS Faculty Scholarship to Hannah Rubin and Trevor Markley.
The Army Reserve National Scholar-Athlete Award went to Abby Hahn and Trevor Markley, presented by Sgt. Goeppner. Sergeant Krajefska presented Alannah Sigrist with the Illinois Army National Guard GI Bill and Scholarship.
Phillips presented Alannah Sigrist with the Principal’s Award.
He also handed out the Perfect Attendance Awards to Kyle Hall, Braddon Hawkey, Noel Jones, Jocelyn Lewis, Macy O’Leary, Adam Schroeder, and Nathan Uphold.
Major recognized Trevor Markley with the Midland States Bank Scholarship.
Steve Eischens was presented with the Teacher of the Year Award by Mrs. Mary Brimberry. He retired at the end of this year.
Honor Roll Awards were presented by Phillips to the following students:
SENIORS – Rachel Bray, Kendall Burleyson, Emily Chapman, Kacie Crain, Avery Davis, Griffin Durbin, Serena Germany, Brayden Gunter, Abby Hahn, Dillion Hassebrock, Carly Hohlt Hassebrock, Carson Hulsey, Ella Jahraus, Trevor Markley, Allyson McCown, Hannah Rubin, Cheyanne Shomaker, Alannah Sigrist and Sidney Wilkins.
JUNIORS – Luke Bergmann, Louisa Brandl, Michaela Engel, Ean Fox, Adrianne Herbert, Noel Jones, Shaelee Karrick, Mingxiao Liu, Baylie Maske, Ryan Matheny, Deven Metcalf, Sydney Miller, Kaelyn Nannini, Alexandria Reid, Jonathan Smith, Nathan Uphold and Makenzi Wilson
SOPHOMORES – Luke Barton, Miriam Blomberg, Madison Durbin, Deidre Hall, Logan Lotz, Lauren Lutz, Olivia McLean and Jacob Tipsword.
FRESHMEN – Mallory Beck, Sierra Cooper, Kyle Hall, Christopher Elledge, Andrew Lybarger, Aaron Patten, Erin Schroeder and Griffin Squibb.

Alannah Sigrist, left, received the Illinois Army National Guard GI Bill and Scholarship from Sgt. Krajefska.

Ella Jahraus received the Daughters of the American Revolution Award.

Illinois State Scholars at South Central High School were Ella Jahraus and Rachel Bray.

The Raymond D. ‘Jack’ Myers Scholarship was presented to Griffin Durbin and Trevor Markley.

Carson Hulsey received the Sons of the American Revolution Outstanding Citizenship Award.

Graduating honor roll seniors at South Central High School that were honored on awards night are shown above. In front, from left, are Ally McCown, Carly Hohlt Hassebrock, Serena Germany, Abby Hahn, Ella Jahraus, Alannah Sigrist, Avery Davis and Trevor Markley. In back are Sidney Wilkins, Dillion Hassebrock, Rachel Bray, Kendall Burleyson, Emily Chapman, Kacie Crain, Hannah Rubin, Carson Hulsey, Griffin Durbin and Brayden Gunter.

Leave a Comment