• College News

    Southeastern Louisiana University
    Abbie Marie Corkern will be graduating from Southeastern Louisiana University in Hammond, La., this Saturday.

  • Kaskaskia College

    Spring CNA classes
    Kaskaskia College is now enrolling students for spring certified nursing assistant classes at the main campus and its education centers, including the Vandalia Campus.
    Dates and times are as follows:
    • The spring Vandalia CNA day class runs Jan. 21-May 1. It is a 13-week class that is held on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and times range from 8 a.m.-12:30 p.m. to 8 a.m.-4 p.m.  

  • Lindenwood names award after Watson

    Lindenwood University has established a new political science award to honor former Illinois State Senator and GOP Minority Leader Frank Watson.

  • VCHS Students Help Load OCC Boxes


    Members of Fellowship of Christian Athletes at Vandalia Community High School went to First United Methodist Church last Monday to load Operation Christmas Child boxes.


  • Brownstown Homecoming Candidates


    Brownstown High School will hold its homecoming dance this Saturday from 8-11 p.m., with the coronation set for 8 p.m.


  • Kaskaskia College


    Geospatial Technology presentation

    Kaskaskia College and Lake Land College have partnered together to present a Geospatial Technology (GST) evening on next Monday from 5:30-7 p.m. at the KC Vandalia Campus.

  • Thomas Scholarship

    The Kaskaskia College Foundation recently awarded Micah Dugan of Vandalia the Betty Thomas Scholarship.

    Dugan, the daughter of Duane and Tonna Dugan of Vandalia, also was awarded the Herbs for Health and Fun Scholarship. She is a 2011 graduate of Vandalia High School and is a sophomore pursuing an associate's degree in nursing. Above, from left to right, are Liz Wade, Dugan and Jerry Moyer, KC Foundation member.

  • Corbell Scholarship

    The Kaskaskia College Foundation has announced that Alyssa Campbell of Centralia and Alex Newsom of Vandalia were recently named the recipients of the Oscar M. Corbell Memorial Scholarship.

  • Honor Roll

    High School

    1st Quarter
    Rachel Bray
    Emily Chapman
    Serena Germany
    Brayden Gunter
    Abby Hahn
    Carson Hulsey
    Ella Jahraus
    Hannah Rubin
    Alannah Sigrist
    Bailey Sigrist
    Kinsyl Bell
    Brett Harmeier
    Kelsie Loos
    Lauren Lotz
    Hannah Lybarger
    Blake Mitchell
    Gavin Ratermann
    Joshua Riley
    Deidra Schaal
    Grant Sedlacek
    Kinsey Spencer

  • FBLA contest helps 2 area food pantries

    The high school office won first place in the South Central High School Future Business Leaders of America annual food drive competition.