Wilhour wins

Winning in the Republican primary on Tuesday, Fayette County resident Blaine Wilhour will now compete for the 107th District state representative seat in November.

Wilhour received 6,162 votes (60.44 percent) to defeat Laura Myers of Greenville, who garnered 4,034 votes (39.56 percent) in Tuesday’s primary election.
In his home county, Wilhour received 1,605 votes to Myers’s 727.
Now, Wilhour will face Democrat David Seiler of Effingham, who was unopposed in the primary election.
As expected, voter turnout in Fayette County was low on Tuesday, with only 3,215 of the county’s 13,572 voters (24 percent) going to the polls. Of the total votes cast, 2,397 were Republican and 818 were Democrat.
The Republican primary race was the only local contest on the ballot on Tuesday, but Tuesday's election did set the ballot for the general election in November.
In the general election, incumbent Republican Vicky Conder is being challenged by Democrat Donna Thull in her bid for a second term as county clerk and recorder.
Republican Michelle Hagy and Democrat Lucas Watson are competing for the county treasurer position. The current treasurer, Rose Hoover, decided not to seek re-election.
For county sheriff, Republican incumbent Chris Smith is being challenged by Democrat Ed Durbin, currently a deputy sheriff.
Republican Cindi Lotz is running unopposed as she seeks another term as the county’s supervisor of assessments, and Democrat incumbent Julie Wollerman is also unopposed in running for another term as regional superintendent of schools in Region No. 3.
Also unopposed at this time is Republican David Hejl, who is seeking election to the county coroner position after being appointed to the post late last year when Republican Bruce Bowen retired.
Unofficial Fayette County Vote Totals
Republican Rauner 1,077, Ives 1,235.
Democrat – Pritzker 435, Kennedy 204, Biss 62, Daiber 41, Hardiman 8, Marshall 28.
Attorney general
R-Harold 1,113, Grasso 924.
D-Quinn 403, Mariotti 37, Drury 80, Rotering 53, Raoul 65, Ruiz 7, Fairley 61, Goldstein 44.
Secretary of State
R-Helland 1,964.
D-White  744.
R-Senger 1,940
D-Mendoza 697.
R-Dodge 1,936
D-Frerichs 681.
Congress-15th District
R-Shimkus 2,016
D-Spoerer 300, Gaither 389.
State Senator-54th District
R-Plummer 1,559, Him 282, Barber 168, Stratemeyer 296.
No Democratic candidate
State Representative-107th District
R-Wilhour 1,605. Myers 727.
D-Seiler 670.
County Clerk
R-Conder 2,056.
D-Thull 723.
R-Hagy 2,030.
D-Watson 683
R-Smith 2,040
D-Durbin 727
Supervisor of Assessments
R-Lotz 2,106
No Democratic candidate
R-Hejl 1,981
No Democratic candidate
Regional Superintent of Schools
D-Wollerman 619.
No Republican candidate
Fayette County Board
District 1 – R-Harris 245. No Democratic candidates
No candidates in other six districts.


Blaine Wilhour

Leave a Comment