Ballot spots filled

Fayette County residents will have decisions to make in three of six county officer positions in 2018.
Three Democrats filed nominating petitions last Thursday that established races for the offices of county clerk, treasurer and sheriff.
The filing period for the spring primary election ended at the end of the day on Monday, with the following having filed to run in 2018:
• County clerk and recorder – Incumbent Vicky Conder of Vandalia (R) and Donna Thull (D) of Ramsey.
• Treasurer – Michelle Hagy of Vandalia (R) and Lucas Watson of St. Elmo (D). Rose Hoover, a Democrat, announced in September that she would not seek a sixth term.
• Sheriff – Incumbent Chris Smith of Vandalia (R) and Ed Durbin of rural Farina (D).
• Supervisor of Assessments – Incumbent Cindi Lotz of St. Peter (R). No Democratic candidate.
• Regional Superintendent of Schools – Incumbent Julie Wollerman of Bingham (D). No Republican candidate.
•  County coroner (two-year unexpired term) – David Hejl of Vandalia (R). No Democratic candidate.
The only candidate for the Fayette County Board to file nominating petitions was Jacob Harris of Ramsey (R).
In addition to voting on the local races, voters will be electing a governor and lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state, comptroller, treasurer at the state level, and representatives and senators at both the state and national levels. Judicial vacancies will also be filled by election in 2018.


Leave a Comment