Congratulations, award recipients

Homecoming 2016 for Vandalia Community High School was more than just an occasion to welcome back those who received their sheepskin from VCHS – it was also a time to recognize some individuals who excelled as a result of their time at the local high school.
On Friday evening, VCHS welcomed Jerry Evans, Drew Bell, Blake Doehring, Brock Doehring, Matt Peyton, Drew Schneider and Marty Johnson into the school's athletic Hall of Fame.
Evans, who led the VCHS golf team for a quarter of a century, was recognized as the winningest coach in the school's history. The others were honored for their athletic achievements at the school, and some for those at the collegiate level.
Then, on Saturday night, the Vandalia Alumni and Friends Foundation honored three local high school graduates with the Distingquished Alumni Award.
Kay Smith, Sid File and Jean Stombaugh were honored for their achievements over the years, whether it was nationwide or here in their hometown.
These individuals are proof of how success can be achieved – whether it be on the field of play, in art galleries around the country or in creating community gemstones – through hardwork, commitment and dedication.
We join the Vandalia School District and its alumni group in honoring those individuals.

Leave a Comment