Election filing period ends

The ballots for the primary election next spring are essentially set now that the filing period for that election is over.

And, in addition to setting races for the general election next November, the primary will feature one race at the county board level.
In District 5, Sarah Whitehead filed nominating petitions to challenge incumbent Darrell Schaal for the right to be in the Republican ballot spot in the general election.
The filing of petitions has established races for the posts of state’s attorney and circuit clerk next November.
Filing for the state’s attorney race were Republican Joshua C. Morrison, who is completing his first term in office, and Democrat Stephen Friedel, who served in that position for three terms before deciding not to run for re-election in 2012.
Republican Kathy Emerick, who is in her first term as Fayette County’s circuit clerk, is being challenged in the general election by Democrat Ashley Towler.
Also up for election next year is the position of county coroner, and as the filing period ended on Monday afternoon, no one had filed petitions to run for that post. The current coroner, Republican Bruce Bowen, announced that he would not seek a fifth term in office.
Filing petitions for Fayette County Board seats were:
• District 1 – Incumbent Democrat Jean Finley and Republican Jenny (Austin) Waggoner.
• District 2 – Incumbent Republican Jeffrey Beckman, who currently serves as board chairman.
• District 3 – Incumbent Democrat Glen “Whitey” Daniels and Republican Chad Austin.
• District 4 – Incumbent Republican Dean Bernhardt.
• District 5 – Incumbent Republican Darrell Schaal and Republican Sarah Whitehead.
• District 6 – Republican Bryce Kistler.
The spring primary will also include the election of Republicans and Democrats in the county’s precincts.
Those filing petitions were:
• K. Randal Braun (D)-Vandalia 1.
• Matthew “Matt” Hall (R)-Shafter.
• Scott Workman (R)-Bear Grove.
• Randy Pollard (R)-Vandalia 8.
• Kathy Emerick (R)-Vandalia 2.
• Jenny (Austin) Waggoner (R)-Carson 1.
• Bryce Kistler (R)-Vandalia 1.
• Alan E. McDowell (D)-South Hurricane.
• Denise Stine (D)-Wheatland.
• Benny O. Davison (D)-Hurricane 1.
• Michael J. Hall (R)-Vandalia 4.
• James S. Bolyard (D)-Ramsey 2.
• Glen Mills (R)-Loudon 1.
• Mark Schaub (R)-Sefton 1.
• Angela Kreienheder (R)-Sharon 1.
• AC Scott Saunder (R)-Ramsey 1.
Also filing nominating petitions was Donald Sheafor Jr., who is running for the position of circuit judge in the Fourth Judicial Circuit. Sheafor, a Republican, is running for the seat to which he was appointed in May 2014 following the appointment of Judge S. Gene Schwarm to an appellate court judicial seat.
At this point, Sheafor does not have any opposition for the local judicial seat.

Jenny (Austin) Waggoner, left, was the first person to file nomination papers for the spring primary last Monday morning. Waggoner is running for a seat in county board District 1 and to serve as the Republican precinct committeeman in Carson 1. Handling the filing of the petitions is Connie Hirtzel, a deputy clerk in the office of County Clerk Vicky Conder. In the background are incumbent county board member Glen ‘Whitey’ Daniels and the incumbent circuit clerk, Kathy Emerick.

Leave a Comment