Old Capitals finish 2-0 at Koerner Cup


BELLVILLE- The Old Capitals, a vintage baseball team based out of Vandalia, were invited to the Koemer Cup this weekend in Belleville.
The Cup was played using 1860s rules. Some of the rules, include using no gloves, as the ball used is softer than a modern baseball. The pitcher throws underhand with the intent of putting the ball where the batter wants it. Where the ball hits first determines whether it is fair or foul, regardless of where it ends up. Outs may be recorded by catching the ball on one bounce as well.
The Old Capitals earned the invite after Steve Hawkins created the team for a vintage-style tournament at the Lincoln Heritage Festival. The team won the tournament, defeating the Decatur Ground Squirrels and the Belleville Stags.  
The Old Capitals picked up a 6-3 win in its first game against the St. Louis Perfectos. Leading the way offensively was Matt Frkovich, who finished the game 3 for 3 with one run scored and two RBI's. Cody Hawkins also went 3 for 3 with two runs scored and one RBI.
In the second game, the Old Capitals dominated the St. Louis Brown Stockings, 16-3. Brady McDowell and Cody Hawkins led the team in RBI's with five and four, respectively.
Box Score
Old Capitals  3-0-0-0-3  6–15–2
Perfectos        3-0-0-0-0  3–5–0

Captiols: Tim DeSherlia, 1 for 4, 1 R; Cody Hawkins, 3 for 3, 1 2B, 2 R, 1 RBI; Kyle Hawkins, 2 for 3, 1 2B, 1 SB, 1 R; Matt Frkovich, 3 for 3, 1 R, 2 RBI; Brady McDowell, 2 for 3, 1 R, 1 RBI; Jeff Lucken, 1 for 3, 1 RBI; Tim Mayes, 2 for 3; T.K. Kinkead, 1 for 3, 1 RBI.

Old Capitals           3-0-0-2-11  16–27–2
Brown Stockings    1-0-1-0-1    3–7–0

Captiols: Tim DeSherlia, 5 for 5, 3 R, 1 RBI;  Cody Hawkins, 4 for 4, 1 2B, 3 R, 4 RBI; Kyle Hawkins, 2 for 4, 3 R, 3 RBI; Matt Frkovich, 3 for 5, 1 2B, 2 R, 3 RBI; Brady McDowell, 5 for 5, 2 2B, 1 HR, 2 R, 5 RBI; Jeff Lucken, 1 for 2, 1 RBI 1 R; Tim Mayes, 2 for 3, 1 RBI; T.K. Kinkead, 1 for 4, 1 R, 1 RBI, Ronnie Jacobs, 3 for 5, 1 R.  

The Old Capitals vintage baseball team is pictured above. In front, from left, are Jeff Lucken, Brady McDowell, Tim DeSherlia, T.K. Kinkead and Kyle Hawkins. Back: Tim Mayes, Terry Sutherland, Cody Hawkins, Steve Hawkins, Matt Frkovich and Ron Jacobs. Not pictured: Codey Norris and Tanner Jacobs, who did not play in the tournament.

Leave a Comment