CEFS taking LIHEAP applications

The C.E.F.S Economic Opportunity Corporation’s Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) still has energy assistance funding available for winter utility assistance.
Any household that has applied as of Sept. 1, 2010, or after would not be eligible to apply again. LIHEAP provides one-time grants to help income eligible households pay for their winter utility expenses.
C.E.F.S. began taking LIHEAP applications last September for the current program year 2011. To date in Fayette County, energy benefits totaling $444,635 have been approved for 937 households. The average payment per household was $475.
Additionally in Fayette County, 224 households received $97,107 in emergency reconnection assistance. The average reconnection assistance payment was $434.
Items needed at the time of application are: proof of all households income for 30 days immediately preceding the day of application; proof of Social Security numbers for all members of the household; and current heating and electric bills.
Thirty-day income eligibility guidelines for LIHEAP for the 2011 program by size of household are as follows:
• 1-$1,354
• 2-$1,821
• 3-$2,289
• 4-$2,756
• 5-$3,224; for each additional member, add $467.
In order that no one is denied the opportunity to make an application, any special accommodations that are needed should be arranged by contacting the local county C.E.F.S. Outreach Office.
All CEFS offices will accommodate applicants who require special arrangements for their appointments, including those who are homebound, hearing-impaired or are otherwise disabled.
Appointments for LIHEAP can be made by contacting the C.E.F.S. Fayette County Outreach office at 517 W. Gallatin St. in Vandalia, phone 283-2631, Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Funding for LIHEAP is provided through the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and the Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity (DCEO).
C.E.F.S. Economic Opportunity Corporation is the local administering agency for Christian, Clay, Effingham, Fayette, Montgomery, Moultrie and Shelby counties.

Leave a Comment