1996-97, ’97-98 wrestling teams to enter VCHS Sports Hall of Fame

Vandalia Community High School is pleased to announce its Sports Hall of Fame inductees for the 2008-09 school year.

This years inductees are the 1996-97 wrestling team and the 1997-98 wrestling team, each of which placed fourth at state.

The teams will be inducted in a ceremony at Mark Greer Field prior to the Vandals Sept. 12 homecoming football game against East Alton-Wood River.

Hall of Fame inductees from the 96-97 and 97-98 wrestling teams are asked to contact VCHS athletic director Mike Butler at 283-5155 to receive individual mailings regarding the induction ceremony.

Team members of the 96-97 team are: Nick Cocagne, Jacob Culbertson, Shane Graumenz, Jeremy Durbin, Mike Mabry, Nathan Graumenz, Seth Henry, Matt Emerick, Lucas Cearlock, Louis Smith, Kirk Swyers, Adam Lape, Chad Wilson, Travis Smith, Jason Clay, Anthony Lach, Ty Kidd, Reid Torbeck, Scott Street, Shane Dothager, head coach Glenn Exton, coach Andy Stritzel and statisticians Andrea Donaldson and Cindy Van Patter.

Team members of the 97-98 team are: Wilson, Mitch Casey, Henry, Travis Smith, Anthony Silva, Matt Graumenz, Matt Adermann, Lape, Bryan Culbertson, Louis Smith, Street, Roger Tate, David Smith, Michael Hobler, Luke Boatman, Emerick, Luke Culbertson, Aaron Burns, Kidd, Clay, Lach, coach Exton and statisticians Donna Eccles, Cheri Bowen, Christina Street and Donaldson.

Leave a Comment