Filing for February primary completed

Several county board races at the primary election in February were set as the filing period for that election ended on Monday.

And while individuals running for county offices up for election next year will not face opposition at the primary, there will be at least two contested races at the November general election.

Democrat Mary Sue Ruot and Republican Nona Beckman are running for the post of circuit clerk. The winner will succeed Democrat Marsha Wodtka, who announced in July that she will not seek an eighth term in office.

Republican Bruce Bowen is seeking a third term as county coroner, and he will be challenged in November by Democrat John W. Cearlock.

Democrat Stephen Friedel is running for a third term as states attorney, and at this time, he is running unopposed.

At the county board level, Democrat Jean B. Finley is among the incumbents running for re-election. At this time, she is the only District 1 candidate.

In District 2, Democrat incumbent John C. Daniels Jr. is being challenged in the primary by fellow Democrat Jon A. Phillips. There is no Republican candidate in District 2 at this time.

Incumbent Republican Stephen L. Knebel is currently the only candidate for a District 3 seat.

In District 4, Republicans Brian Kinney and Theodore Ted Miller are running in the primary for the right to run in the general election. There is no Democratic candidate at this time. Republican Dan Barenfanger is currently serving in the seat up for election next year.

In District 5, Republicans Pete Taylor and Keith Cole are squaring off in the primary. Democrat Robert E. Williams is also on the primary ballot. The District 5 seat up for election next year is now being held by Republican Lee Schaal.

Incumbent Democrat Joe E. Kelly is running for re-election in District 6, and Democrat Mont Caraway is also on the ballot.

In District 7, Republican Troy L. Pattillo and Green Party candidate Don Crawford on the ballot. Republican Dean Black is now serving in District 7, but he is stepping down from the seat this month, because he is moving from St. Elmo to Vandalia.

Leave a Comment