.....Advertisement.....
.....Advertisement.....

Columns

  • Cox Massacre program yields new facts

    Last week in this space, I told of the upcoming commemoration of the Cox Massacre, the first Indian attack ever recorded in Bond County. My story of the attack combined several sources, and this past Saturday, I learned even more after attending the Hill’s Fort Living History Days in Greenville.

  • Banks of the Okaw-June 9, 2011

    This week’s Mystery Banks Photo: These two guys are cousins.

  • The Way We Were-June 9, 2011

    15 Years Ago

    1996 – Jeff and Jennifer Hester of Vandalia were celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary. The Rev. Reinhold and Mary Dierks were also celebrating their silver anniversary.
    Albert and Violet Johnstone of rural Mulberry Grove were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary.
    Fayette County Sheriff Michael D. Kleinik gave support for a new juvenile detention center in Southern Illinois.

  • Massacre to be remembered

    Early in 1811, the Indians still made annual visits to Fayette and Bond counties for hunting.

  • Banks of the Okaw-June 2, 2011

    This week’s Mystery Banks Photo: This young man, pictured 35 or 40 years ago at his birthday party, is a native of Fayette County. He can be seen on the streets of Vandalia during the daytime, and he can be seen in any one of three police uniforms in the evening hours.

    Do you know him? If so, call The Leader-Union, 283-3374.
    In last week’s Mystery Banks Photo were: Jeff Hoffman, Pete Bauerle, Gary Bauerle and Freddie Bauerle.
    Identifying them were: Linda Moreland, Danny Donaldson, Brenda Meyer, Peggy Hunt and Lindel Martie.

  • The Way We Were-June 2, 2011

    15 Years Ago

    1996 – Due to input from people in the community, Mayor Rich Walker rescinded his proposal to eliminate the Vandalia Economic Development Commission.
    Ed Taylor’s performance of a song he wrote won him first place in The Leader-Union’s Talent Showcase.
    Vicky Shaeffer was the championship flight champ and Glenda Lawler took first place in the A Flight of the St. Andrew’s Ladies Open at the Vandalia Country & Golf Club. Peg Harris won the B Flight, and Dorothy Fannin was the C Flight champion.
    Alice Walton was installed as president of the Cameo Woman’s Club.

  • Potts family had tie to Daniel Boone

    Many of the columns I write require several weeks of research before they are ready to be included in The Leader-Union. Other stories are more easily told. This story, about William Potts, is one of the easy ones.
    The Potts family settled in Illinois around 1829, and although they made contributions to their adoptive state, it is the history of the family before coming to Illinois that is my subject today.
    William B. Potts was born in Frankfort, Ky., in the year 1814, and came to Illinois in 1829 with his father Richard F. Potts, brother Jessie and sister Millie.

  • Banks of the Okaw-May 26, 2011

    This week’s Mystery Banks Photo: This picture, taken in 1968, shows three brothers and a cousin. All grew up in the Ramsey area.

  • Michael Steinhauer home housed FCHD

    The auction notice of the building at 509 W. Edwards St., used most recently as headquarters of the Fayette County Health Department, sparked my interest because I discovered only a couple of years ago that this home was built in the early 1860s by Michael Steinhauer.

  • Banks of the Okaw-May 19, 2011

    In last week’s Mystery Banks Photo were: The Vandalia Junior High School boys basketball team from 1953-54. Pictured in the front row are, from left, Jerry Swarm, Brad Pryor, Mark Miller, Dan Hampton, Jim Brannon, Ron McKay and Larry Walton. In the back row are, from left, Coach Bill Schultz, Terry Brown, Bill Augenstein, Darrell Stokes, John Cole, Keith Cripe and Coach Jim Staff.