.....Advertisement.....
.....Advertisement.....

Columns

  • The Way We Were-June 23, 2011

    15 Years Ago

    1996 – Dr. Tom Jaselskis, a family practitioner in Vandalia for the past five years, announced that he was moving to Tennessee.
    Matt Baker of Vandalia and Brian Maske of Ramsey earned degrees from the St. Louis College of Pharmacy.
    Vernon and Alma Meyer of St. Peter were planning to celebrate their 50th anniversary.
    Brooke Straub and Mandi Wasmuth of Vandalia were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa sorority at Kaskaskia College.

  • Cemetery yields information about township

    Twice within the past 30 days, I have found myself in the historic Old Liberty Cemetery in Sefton Township. Prior to that,  I had never visited this historic burying ground, although I always thought that one day I would find the time.
    Wilma Kruger of Brownstown was my first guide, and we were on an ancestor hunt. As we followed the road that led to the cemetery, she told me some of her memories of this area. One must cross both a bridge and a ford to reach the cemetery.

  • Banks of the Okaw--June 16, 2011

    This week’s Mystery Banks Photo: This little guy, pictured about 23 years ago, grew up in Vandalia. He is currently in the military and lives out of state.

  • The Way We Were-June 16, 2011

    15 Years Ago

    1996 – The city of Vandalia received 38 applications for the position of community development director.
    Stewart and Verble Meador were planning to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary.
    Lucas Clanton, a rural Mulberry Grove resident and member of the Vandalia chapter of Future Farmers of America was named a Star American Farmer candidate.

    20 Years Ago

  • Cox Massacre program yields new facts

    Last week in this space, I told of the upcoming commemoration of the Cox Massacre, the first Indian attack ever recorded in Bond County. My story of the attack combined several sources, and this past Saturday, I learned even more after attending the Hill’s Fort Living History Days in Greenville.

  • Banks of the Okaw-June 9, 2011

    This week’s Mystery Banks Photo: These two guys are cousins.

  • The Way We Were-June 9, 2011

    15 Years Ago

    1996 – Jeff and Jennifer Hester of Vandalia were celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary. The Rev. Reinhold and Mary Dierks were also celebrating their silver anniversary.
    Albert and Violet Johnstone of rural Mulberry Grove were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary.
    Fayette County Sheriff Michael D. Kleinik gave support for a new juvenile detention center in Southern Illinois.

  • Massacre to be remembered

    Early in 1811, the Indians still made annual visits to Fayette and Bond counties for hunting.

  • Banks of the Okaw-June 2, 2011

    This week’s Mystery Banks Photo: This young man, pictured 35 or 40 years ago at his birthday party, is a native of Fayette County. He can be seen on the streets of Vandalia during the daytime, and he can be seen in any one of three police uniforms in the evening hours.

    Do you know him? If so, call The Leader-Union, 283-3374.
    In last week’s Mystery Banks Photo were: Jeff Hoffman, Pete Bauerle, Gary Bauerle and Freddie Bauerle.
    Identifying them were: Linda Moreland, Danny Donaldson, Brenda Meyer, Peggy Hunt and Lindel Martie.

  • The Way We Were-June 2, 2011

    15 Years Ago

    1996 – Due to input from people in the community, Mayor Rich Walker rescinded his proposal to eliminate the Vandalia Economic Development Commission.
    Ed Taylor’s performance of a song he wrote won him first place in The Leader-Union’s Talent Showcase.
    Vicky Shaeffer was the championship flight champ and Glenda Lawler took first place in the A Flight of the St. Andrew’s Ladies Open at the Vandalia Country & Golf Club. Peg Harris won the B Flight, and Dorothy Fannin was the C Flight champion.
    Alice Walton was installed as president of the Cameo Woman’s Club.