• School Menus

    Tuesday, Feb. 21 – Blueberry waffle w/syrup.
    Wednesday, Feb. 22 – Choice of cereal, toast and jelly.   
    Thursday, Feb. 23 – Scrambled eggs, sausage links, toast and jelly.   
    Friday, Feb. 24 – Choice of cereal, toast and jelly.
    Tuesday, Feb. 21 – Chicken pattie on bun, mashed potatoes, green beans, applesauce, bread and milk.

  • Honor Roll

    Vandalia Christian Academy
    Second Quarter
    A Honor Roll
    Eighth grade-Tyler Sutton.
    Seventh grade-Madeline Cade.
    Sixth grade-Sarah Milash, Nathaniel Weaver, Hope Budny-Clymer and Audrey Meyers.
    Fourth grade-Cameron Withers, Robert Durbin and Wade Shafer.
    Third grade-Trista Smith-Stone.
    B Honor Roll
    Eighth grade-Marcus Durbin.
    Seventh grade-Mallory Hicks and Hunter Sasse.
    Sixth grade-Erik Daume.
    Fifth grade-Zachary Stephenson and Hailey Cunetto.

  • VCHS Students Perform at All-State Band Concert

    Vandalia Community High School students Bailey Jones and Ian Murrell performed at the Illinois All-State Band Concert at the Peoria Civic Center the end of January.

    Jones and Murrell are shown with VCHS band director Tony Hicks in the photo at left. Murrell is shown playing the trombone with the all-state jazz band. Jones played the clarinet with the all-state concert band.

  • Dean's Lists

    University of Illinois
    • Bell Andrew F., senior, mechanical engineering major.
    Southern Illinois University
    • Ramsey – *Eric L. Brown, junior.
    • Vandalia – *Levi M. Halford, senior: *Dakota D. Kellow, junior; and *Brooke J. Pippins, senior.
    • St. Elmo – Alexander J. Radcliff, junior; and Christopher L. Hooks, senior.
    * Denotes straight A grades for the semester.

  • Denning chosen as Outstanding Junior in department at SIUE

    Jonathan Denning of rural Vandalia was selected for the Outstanding Junior award in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville.
    Denning will receive a plaque at the SIUE annual awards banquet on Feb. 21 in the Meridian Ballroom at the Morris University Center.
    Denning is the son of Howard and May Denning, and the grandson of Dwight and Darlene Denning.

  • Wilkerson Wins VJHS Geography Bee

    Maddie Wilkerson, shown with Vandalia Junior High School Principal Brian Kern, was the winner of the seventh-grade National Geographic geography bee.

    The finalists in the geography bee are shown with Kern: Wilkerson, Shayntel Elam, Lindsay Dagen, Molly Kern, Miranda Carroll, Carter Towler, Brayden Caswell, Ryley Watson and Jackson Hall.

  • VCSF Quarter Auction

    The Vandalia Community Schools Foundation held its inaugural quarter auction on Saturday night.

  • KC Vandalia Campus

    Sign language
    The Vandalia Campus is offering an extensive series of sign language classes for both children and their caregivers.
    The classes are offered Tuesday and Thursday mornings for both 2- and 3-year-olds.
    The topics include eat and drink, clothing, play, mom and dad, pets, nice words, bedtime and many more.
    This course is open to all children and caregivers, both hearing-impaired and non-hearing-impaired.
    The cost for each four-session block is $20 per caregiver.

  • Vandalia parent-teacher conferences are Friday

    The Vandalia School District will hold parent-teacher conferences from 9 a.m.-3 p.m. this Friday.
    Teachers will be available except during the following lunch times:
    • 11-11:30 a.m.-Okaw Area Vocational Center.
    • 11:15-11:45 a.m.-Vandalia Jefferson Primary School.
    • 11:30 a.m.-noon-Vandalia Elementary School.
    • 11:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m.-Vandalia Junior High School.
    • Noon-12:30 p.m.-Vandalia Community High School.

  • Kaskaskia College Honor Roll

    President’s List
    • Ramsey – Alicia Beck, Tammy Bumgardner.
    • Mulberry Grove – April Betts, April Miller, Tyler Osborne.
    • Vandalia – Megan Beall, Brittney Bennett, Ima Carruthers, Jodi Elder, Jessica Evaul, Karissa Gottman, Heather Haslett, Ruth Hathaway, Holly Kershaw, Lindsay Kistler, Austyn Krueger, Nicholas Metzger, Gregory Mitchell, Deirdre Murray, Cody Robbins, Christian Schroeder, Makayla Summers, Stacey Summers, Helen Wells, Ashley Wiedau, Bryce Worker.