• Honor Roll

    Second Semester
    High honors-Kayla Black, Brittany Kistler, Hannah McDonald, Kristen Pontious, Matthew Sefton and Kaitlin Yorde.
    Honors-Tara Johnson, Austin Rhodes and Ashton Smith.
    High honors-Katie Carson, Lakin Evans, Bethany Oberlink, Jacob Rolfingsmeier and Michaela Walk.
    Honors-Danielle Austin, Ashley Holmbert, Alissa Lange, Dustin Lawson, Jill Schilling, Lauren Shelton and Jeffery Taylor.
    High honors-Katie Kroll, Audriana Pruett and Corie Sasse.

  • Children Helping Children

    Students in a class at Brownstown Elementary School have again helped a classmate in her ongoing effort to pay back a hospital that has treated her.

  • Graduation Day
  • Winner of Disney Prize

    Angel Kopp was the winner of the $5,000 Disney prize given away in a fundraiser held by the Vandalia Band Boosters.

    Above, Amy Meyer, chairwoman of the fundraiser, gives the prize certificate to Kopp. In front, from left to right, are Meyer, Kopp and son Baylen Kopp, Delaney Kopp and Logan Roberts, who sold the winning ticket. In back are Band Boosters members Tammy Hall, Carla Huhn, Diane Isringhausen, Kim Fiscus, Kelly Roberts and Diane Torbeck.

  • LLC dental hygiene class goes to Tennessee

    Several Lake Land College dental hygiene instructors and students from the senior dental hygiene class recently traveled to Pigeon Forge, Tenn., for a volunteer service learning experience.

  • The Best of their Class
  • College News

    Eastern Illinois University
    Jamie Montgomery of Vandalia graduated from Eastern Illinois University on Saturday, May 4, with a bachelor’s degree in family and consumer sciences.

  • Mother's Day Art Contest Winners

    The winners of an art contest held by WJLY Radio and McDonald's are shown.

  • Missouri Baptist University

    Missouri Baptist University
    Blythe Bergstrom of Florissant, Mo. formerly of Vandalia, graduated from Missouri Baptist University on April 30 in St. Charles, Mo.

  • Honor Roll

    Patoka Schools
    Third Quarter
    High Honors
    • Grade 3: Drew Belcher and Jacob Stephens.
    • Grade 4: Kassidy Devall, Jordan Gebke, Nickole Houston, Emma Landreth and Matthew Landreth.
    • Grade 5: Madeline Clark and Braden Torbeck.
    • Grade 6: Jaelyn Cain.
    • Grade 7: Baylie Devall, Parker Karrick, Sydney Stephens and Brittaney Wynn.
    • Grade 8: Garrett Belcher and Alexis Phillips.
    • Grade 9: Dylan Back, Taylor Isaak and Emily Van Uytven.