The Way We Were

-A A +A
By The Staff

25 Years Ago

1989 – Friends of the Old State Capitol received a matching grant award from the Southern Illinois Regional Tourism Council to promote this year’s Grand Levée.
Melinda Sue Yarbrough of Vandalia was a semifinalist in the Miss Illinois Teen-USA Pageant.

30 Years Ago

1984 – Fayette County Hospital was offered a contract with Vandalia Correctional Center, effective July 1, to run for one year.
Vandalia Railroad Corp.  reached an “acceptable” agreement with Conrail and is ready to transport rail cars to industries in the city, according to Walt Barenfanger, president of Vandalia Railroad.
Brad Reznick and Brian Schaal were both chosen by the Cameo Woman’s Club to attend a one-week computer workshop at Western Illinois University this summer.
About 100 people attended the dinner representing five counties in District 14 of the Illinois Farm Bureau. Farm Bureau members from Fayette, Effingham, Marion, Clay and Montgomery counties were at the meeting held Monday at the Vandalia Moose Lodge.
Don Snyder was named April Teacher of the Month by Vandalia Unit Teachers Association.
Karen Herrington, a mother volunteer worker in Vandalia schools, was chosen as the “Friend of Education” for April by the Vandalia Unit Teachers Association.

40 Years Ago

1974 – For the second time,  voters in the rural area surrounding Vandalia rejected a proposal to establish a water district.
Edward Taylor was elected president of Vandalia Unit School Board at a reorganization meeting Tuesday night, just after the seating of two new members. Jane Brown was elected secretary. Bonnie Branum was the retiring board president.
Tourists from England and Japan were among those registered at the Vandalia Old State Capitol this past month.
Taylorville topped Vandalia 107 to 34 in a track meet at Vandalia on Tuesday.
Pana clipped Vandalia Community High School 8-5 in a Mid-State Conference baseball game in Vandalia on Monday.

50 Years Ago

1964 – Five trophies were awarded to Vandalia High School athletes during the all-sports banquet Monday night: John Wehrle, track award; Lonnie Culbertson, tackling trophy; David Frailey, wrestling trophy; Mike Steinhauer, most valuable football player award.
Estimated damage from the fire in the garage at Illinois State Farm was $7,000.
Edward Burrus was elected president of Brownstown School Board; that same night, the resignation of Wesley Bartimus as superintendent of schools was accepted.
“The Tavern” was the name of the play presented by the Junior class of Vandalia High School on Thursday Night.
Twenty Women were presented certificates signifying that they completed a six-week  nursing course at Fayette County Hospital on Friday.

60 Years Ago

1954 – Pruett and Kelly got the Democratic nod in Tuesday’s primary election. Dave Waltz was the Republican nominee for sheriff.
Vandalia High School band received a first-place rating at the district contest at Greenville on Saturday.
A buckle snapped and the Goodrich sign dropped through the sidewalk, leaving a large gap in front of the store’s new location in the Levin building.
Members of the Augsburg confirmation class were Allen Sasse, Betty Schaal, Herman Sachteleben, Leslie Epps and Arthur Bombal.
Members of the Holy Cross confirmation class were Anna Louise Bombal, Freda Horsley, Raymond Hulskotter and Phillip Curry.
Mattes and Cunningham were re-elected to places on board of education.

70 Years Ago

1944 – A social was planned to help overcome a $5,000 deficit on Red Cross fund. Vandalia civic and fraternal organizations sponsored it.
The annual parent-son FFA banquet was a big success. Julian Thoman, president of the Future Farmers of America chapter, was toastmaster. Mrs. Clem VanZandt and Lloyd Thoman gave the parents’ response. G.V. Blythe was  the speaker. Gilbert Meseke, Billy Hunter, Dale Torbeck and Wayne Cunningham were on the program. The Methodist Sunday School orchestra furnished dinner music, with George Gibbons directing.
Gale Rousch, son of Mr. and Mrs. Eber Rousch, held the  distinction of being the final member of Troop 19 to become an Eagle Scout. The troop was sponsored by the First Baptist Church, and had been organized for three years under the leadership of Oral Walker.
Mrs. Irene Moore was appointed City Clerk at a social session of the city council Monday evening. Mayor Fred A. Myers presided.