Voter deadlines for Feb. 2 election approaching

-A A +A

Though a number of local and state offices won’t be filled through election more than 10 months from now, those wishing to have a say in who’s elected need to make sure right now that they are eligible to vote.

Next Tuesday is the final day that Fayette County residents may register to vote or transfer their registration for the Feb. 2 primary election.

The office of Fayette County Clerk and Recorder Terri D. Braun will be closed this Friday to observe New Year’s Day, but it will be open from 9 a.m.-1 p.m. this Saturday solely for voter registration matters.

However, those who fail to register or transfer their registration by next Tuesday can still vote in the primary.

That’s because the state’s grace-period voting and registration period begins next Wednesday. During the grace period, individuals will be required to vote when they register or transfer their registration.

The grace period runs through Jan. 19, according to Braun.

County residents who are properly registered also will have the opportunity to cast early votes in the primary.

Early voting begins on Monday, Jan. 11, in room 103 at the Fayette County Courthouse, and continues through Jan. 28.

Those who will be unable to go to the polls on Feb. 2 may also request absentee ballots. Thursday, Jan. 28, is the last day Braun’s office can mail out absentee ballots, and those ballots may either be mailed in or returned to her office. Ballots that are mailed in must be postmarked by midnight on the night before the election.

At the Feb. 2 primary election, voters will select party nominees for the Nov. 2 general election.

State officers to be elected in 2010 include:

•U.S. senators and representatives.


•Lieutenant governor.

•Attorney general.

•Secretary of state.



•State senators and representatives.

At the county level, voters will elect the following officers:




•Supervisors of assessments.

• Regional superintendents of schools.

• Half of the seats on the county boards (seven in Fayette County.)

Currently unopposed in their bids for re-election are County Clerk and Recorder Terri D. Braun (D), County Treasurer Rose Hoover (D), Sheriff Aaron Lay (R), Supervisor of Assessments Cindi Lotz (R) and Regional Superintendent of Schools Mark Drone (D).

The list of county board candidates includes six incumbents, Republicans Jeffrey E. Beckman (District 2), Dean J. Bernhardt (District 4), Darrell Schaal (District 5) and Blaine J. Wilhour (District 7), and Democrats Loy Staff (District 1) and Glen “Whitey” Daniels (District 3). Also filing as a county board candidate is Glenn L. Gurtner, a Republican who is seeking the District 6 seat now held by Republican Greg Fulk.

Nominees will also be selected on Feb. 2 for judicial vacancies, including one in the Fourth Judicial Circuit.

Those seeking the seat being vacated by the retirement of Judge John Coady of Taylorville include Fayette County State’s Attorney Stephen Friedel, a Democrat. Friedel will square off against Democrats Stewart Freeman of Breese and Michelle Coady of Taylorville, a distant relative of the retiring judge.

Also seeking election to that seat is Republican Douglas L. Jarman of Hillsboro, who was appointed to the seat at the end of September.

Voters will also elect Republican and Democratic precinct committeemen at the Feb. 2 election.