St. Elmo Alumni Banquet

-A A +A
By The Staff

“Basket of Memories” was the theme of the St. Elmo Alumni Banquet held the evening of May 28 in the high school gym, with more than 200 alumni and guests attending. More than 160 had made reservations. The alumni came from 16 states, 43 towns and cities in Illinois and 33 from St. Elmo.
A retired agriculture teacher, Richard Lowe of St. Elmo, attended. Following are the alumni, and if a state isn’t listed, the town is in Illinois.
1934-Jennie Alice Logue Harner of St. Elmo.
1938-Gilbert Wright and Millard Mills, both of St. Elmo.
1941-Audrey Smith Nobbe of Woodlawn.
1942-Ross Stine of Loogootee.
1944-Rosemary Mills Owen of St. Elmo.
1946-Charles Lovett of Pekin.
1947-Norma Jean Fristoe Olds of Sidney, and Robert Owen and Anna Jean Bates Rhodes, both of St. Elmo.
1948-Frank Krost of St. Elmo, Roselyn Smith Stine of Loogootee.
1949-Ruby Fulks Shipley of Humera, Ind., and Jane Mattix Howell of Mullica Hill, N.J.
1950-Bob Leach of St. Charles, Mo., Mary Belle Owen McLean of Creve Coeur, Mo.
1951-Beverly Gire Taylor of Lima, Ohio, Mildred Simpkins Lovett of Pekin, Erna Dunbar Koontz of St. Elmo and Ben White of Hawthorne Woods.
1951-Susie Irey Pollock of Farina, John Fulton of Washington, Paul G. Little of Metropolis, Raymond Coker and Velta Wilson Coker, both of Albermarle, N.C., Neil Kepner of DeKalb, Wayne Lovett of Brownstown and Monda Harpster Reeder of Arthur.
1953-Jim Dial of Effingham, Carla Jennings Fulton of Washington, Delva Jennings Krost of St. Elmo and Evelyn Rogers Taylor of Decatur.
1954-Laura Ann Rush Feezel of Brownstown, James Stolte of Vandalia, Charlotte Coblentz Killough of Grove, Okla., Jim McClure of St. Louis, Mo., Rita Ann Niemeyer Dial of Effingham, Harold K. Brady of St. Charles, Mo., Richard Freeman of Salem, Janet Sapp Funneman of Teutopolis, Lois Ragel Lash of Springfield, Don Fairchild of Evergreen, Colo., Galen Underwood of Warrensburg, Donald and Dorotha Rhodes, both of Vandalia and Cora Dial Miley of St. Elmo.
1955-Roberta Branham Miller of Crestwood, Mo., Wayne Duree of Bradford, Pa., Pat Ragsdale Storm of Mt. Zion, Betty Barnick Britt of Patoka, Barbara Sue Gire Stites and Mary Mathis Harrison, both of St. Elmo, Mila Blurton Leach of St. Charles, Mo., and JoAnn Evans Feldcamp of Altamont.
1956-Karen Slifer Wolf of Bowling Green, Ky., William (Bill) Haslett of Hopkinsville, Ky., Kay Stolte Duree of Bradford, Pa., Dale Walker of Wilmore, Ky., Darline Fletcher Davis of Little Rock, Ark., Jack Smith of Antioch, Calif., Charles Bosomworth, Merle Lash and Ernie Myers and Everett L. Ritchie, all of St. Elmo, Dale White of Sandwich, Janice Underwood Thode of Broadlands and Sandra Lovett of Brownstown.
1957-Gene Ireland of Beecher City, Janice Fulks Geiger of Anderson, Ind., Carrie May Jenkins Miller of Effingham, Marjorie Sarver of St. Elmo, Lenore Scott Gatewood of Waukomis, Okla., Vernon Lovett of Orange Park, Fla., Joe Barnick and Janet Smith McEndollar, both of Farina, and Margalee Reed Park of Springfield.
1958-Betty Lash Underwood of Warrensburg and Paula Jones Myers of St. Elmo.
1959-Lorene Gorenz Abendroth and Jo Nell Hill, both of St. Elmo, Donna Jenkins Claar and Kenneth Fisher, both of Effingham, Roger Bosomworth of Decatur, Rita Haslett Fieber of Nashville and Mick Rogers of Vandalia.
1960-Karen Durbin Hyde of Edgewood, Danny Schuster of Decatur, Neil Smith, Barbara Doty Smith, Ron Weaber, all of St. Elmo, Barbara Reed Patrick of Dawson, Bill Finney of Sycamore, Sandy Phillips Elkins of Farina, Irene Brewbaker Dart of Effingham.
1961-Edwin Mattix, Carolyn Breedon Weaber and Steve Pattillo, all of St. Elmo, Carole Richardson Austin of Brownstown, David Gardner of Waynesville, N.C., John Grant of Royce, Texas, Karen Harrison Johnson of Indianapolis, Ind., Dennis Koberlein of McLean, Francis Koeberlein of Teutopolis, Orval Leonberger of Aurora, Margery Stine Lovett of Orange Park, Fla., Shirley Donaldson May of Granberry, Texas, Joyce Smith Morgan of Pana, Dennis Murphy of Ocala, Donna Watson Nelson of Mason, Dennis Ritchie of Mt. Zion, Judy Gillespie Stover of Lancaster, Calif., Carol Williams Summers of Vandalia, Mickey Wright of Woodlawn, Liz Kelley Finney of Sycamore, Sandra Milliron Bosomworth of Decatur, Leona Gorenz Pulsford of Johnson City, Judy Smith Barnick of Farina and Russell Garrison of Tamms.
1963-David Ruble of Watson, Robert Stine of Decatur, David Fairchild of Lakewood, Colo., Karen Sawyer Wharton of Mason, Larry Gire of Troy, and Kent Janes and Kent Denton, both of St. Elmo.
1963-Karen Orr Gire of Troy.
1964-Jim Hopper of Farina.
1965-Joyce Brewbaker Drees of St. Elmo.
1966-Donald Schuster of Springfield, Ohio.
1967-Marie Mills Hopper of Farina.
1968-Adrian Freeman of Kansas City, Mo.
1971-Nancy Reed Arnold of Brownstown, Sandra Harris Sickles of St. Elmo and Connie Stine Dunn of Brighton, Tenn.
1975-Charlie Durbin of St. Elmo, Linda Dial Hubbartt of Windsor, Steven E. Rhodes of Chicago, Michael Abendroth of St. Louis, Mo., and Teresa Dothager of Houston, Texas.
1977-Susan Owen Hollinshead of St. Elmo.
1979-Marsha Lilly Wright of Beecher City, Cathy McEndollar Wilson of Effingham.
1981-Carla Ritchie of Heyworth.
1985-Paula Mattix Wand of Bethalto.
1991-Heidi Harris Cole of St. Elmo.
2009-Caleb Williams of Effingham.
2011-Clifton Durbin of St. Elmo.
The doors opened at 5 p.m. and the banquet was served at 6 p.m. Master of Ceremonies Kent Denton (1964) gave the welcome and led in the pledge of allegiance. Dr. Dale Walker (1956) gave the invocation. The dinner was catered by Deb’s Catering of Altamont.
After the presentation of the classes, there were door prizes and raffle drawings. A Tilford Hord large woven picnic basket was won by Janice Geiger;  the afghan made by Rosemary Owen was won by Don Schuster; two tickets to the 2012 alumni banquet were won by Rita Fieber; salt and pepper shakers were won by Orville Leonberger;  a Britania bear was won by Francis Koeberlein; a Glory bear was won by Ross Stine; a Maple bear was won by Dennis Ritchie; a Princess bear was won by Joan Feldcamp; a Brown bear was won by Betty Underwood; and a Christmas bear was won by Jo Nell Hill.
Each of the round tables had a basket holding a bear as the centerpiece. They were given as door prizes for the number on the bottom of a nut or mint cup.
The alumni committee was Lorene Abendroth (1959), Laura Ann Feezel (1954), Karen Hyde (1960), Delva Krost (1953) and Susie Pollick (1952).