Soroptimists take reservations for banquet

-A A +A

The annual Soroptimist Awards Banquet will be held at 6:30 pm. on April 8 at Days Inn in Vandalia.
Reservations should be made by calling Judy Wasmuth, 283-2989, no later than April 1. Limited seating is available, so reservations should be made soon.
Soroptimist International of Vandalia is honoring three ladies in the Soroptimist International of Americas programs: Kathy Critcheloe, Women’s Opportunity Award; Gabrielle McNutt, Violet Richardson Award; and Brenda Benton, Ruby Award.
The Women’s Opportunity Award is given to a woman who is the head of her household and has returned to school to educate herself, so that she can provide a better life for her family.
The Violet Richardson Award is given to a young woman, age 14-17, who volunteers her time to make the community and the world a better place.
The Ruby Award is presented to a woman who, either through her job or volunteerism, makes a difference in the lives of women and girls.
Other recognition is given to six women who have made a difference in the community and the world in the following fields: Taunya Ohnesorge, Health; Emma Sue Rabe, Education; Pat Rhodes, Social & Economic Development; Lynn Brown, Environment; Angela Young, International Goodwill & Understanding; and Karen Torbeck, Human Rights/Status of Women.
An award is also presented to the Woman of the Year for outstanding citizenship and/or volunteerism. This year’s Woman of the Year recipient is Farrell Gruenbaum.
Along with the above honorees, the Soroptimists recognize one of their own as the Soroptimist of the Year.
The winner of that award will be announced at the banquet and will be presented with the traveling plaque.
The Soroptimist Club of Vandalia invites the community to come and share in this evening of honoring women who otherwise go unthanked for the many hours of devotion to our community.
This banquet has continued to grow over the years and has become an event to recognize these deserving women.