Gottman wins re-election; Myers wins in St. Elmo

-A A +A
By The Staff

Ricky Gottman won a fourth term as Vandalia’s mayor, taking a little more than 58 percent of the vote in defeating challenger Brian J. Stout.

In St. Elmo, however, the incumbent mayor was defeated. Ernie Myers received more than 68 percent of the vote in unseating the current mayor, Larry Tish.
Also on Tuesday, long-time Vandalia Township employee Bruce Henry, a Republican, defeated Independent candidate Aaron Draege in winning the highway commissioner position in that township.
Winners of Vandalia Township trustee seats on Tuesday included Republicans Tim Metzger and Bryce Kistler, and Democrats Larry Emerick and Randy Braun.
Tuesday’s elections also included a number of contested races for school board seats, including one seat on the Vandalia Board of Education. In that race, incumbent Chris Palmer defeated challenger Roger Hill.
Incumbents Connie Goldsmith and Joe Lawson, and newcomer John Campbell were elected without opposition.
In the Brownstown School District, four seats were up for election, with five candidates on the ballot. Winning the seats were Laura Willms, Teresa Barnick, Barbara Morrison and Randy Mason.
Gottman garnered 58 percent of the vote in gaining re-election.